To markoci: saturation - The TrekEarth Forums

Forums

Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Great markoci 2007-05-19 23:23

as you know i'm not good with words and being late to comment, it's hard to add to the above critiques... this one's about the colors of course and the (from you)rather unusual pp which resulted in a very painting-like effect.. (do you also find yourself often saturating your shots from india? maybe it's just my new camera...) a 60s/70s painted movie poster was what came to my mind immediately too.. indeed i think we're getting two photos here for the price of one, not only because of the dividing composition and the very opposite expressions of the characters but also two quite different processing of the two people... it's as if the woman is just peeking into reality from a poster on the wall.. anyways an interesting effect, a bit borderline perhaps for me too, i can relate to darren's feelings but i think i still like it overall..

Old 05-20-2007, 02:38 PM
TE Expert

Default To markoci: saturation

Hi Mark,
Thanks for your comments.
As for the PP, pls check my reply to Inasiajones, as I know you can perfectly read french. In summary, the left side is probably the more genuine part compared to the right hand side (in fact most people do not understand this is taken below a kind of velum, with many artificial shop lightings, this is what makes the lighting so studio like. Funny how things should match with what the readers think is reality.).

As for a two photos opportunity I deeply disagree, in fact I couldn't disagree more to this statement. This photo is, like I wrote, a theatrical scene between the two shop tennants. Without the contrast range (ie. man/woman smile/despair dynamism/sleepiness) the photo just doesn't exist at all. Apart from being starved two years from clicking, I don't see which kind of intersting photo I could get from this guy and his tomatoes, it would be of too meager interest, if you ask me.