写真

Photographer's Note

The Church of S縊 Paulo was built in 1565 with the name of Church of Mother of God, at side of the former school of the Jesuits. Few years after this church was destroyed by fire and rebuilt as the largest church in Asia. It was built by Japanese Christians who found refuge in Macau and were teach by an Italian priest.
When the Jesuits were expelled from Portuguese empire in 1762 the church was transformed in a military headquarter and in 1835 a fire destroyed the school at side and the church, remaining only its precious fa軋de.
This fa軋de is the symbol of Macau and listed one of the seven wonders of Portuguese colonial art.

.............

A Igreja de S縊 Paulo foi feita em 1565, mas naquele tempo se chamava Igreja da Madre de Deus e ficava ao lado da escola de S縊 Paulo, dos Jesuitas. Poucos anos depois um inc麩dio destruiu a igreja e ela foi reerguida com a ajuda de crist縊s japoneses refugiados, instrudos por um padre italiano, tornando-se a maior igreja de toda a チsia.
Quando os jesutas foram expulsos do imp駻io portugu黌 em 1762, a igreja foi transformada em quartel e em 1835 o fogo destruiu a escola e a igreja, restando apenas a fachada.
Essa fachada o smbolo de Macau e considerada uma das sete maravilhas da arte colonial portuguesa no mundo.

Photo Information
Viewed: 291
Points: 34
Discussions
Additional Photos by Jorge Dias (jmdias) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 11591 W: 174 N: 21432] (94006)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH