写真

Photographer's Note

Basilica of Constantine and Maxentius, sometimes called the New Basilica (Basilica Nova), this was the largest building in the Roman Forum, although it痴 fairly late. It was begun under the emperor Maxentius in 308 and was completed in 312 by Constantine after the defeat of his predecessor at the Battle of the Milvian Bridge. The site chosen was that of the Velia, a ridge connecting the Esquiline and Palatine hills. The area had previously been leveled for the Horrea Piperatica, a central market and storage facility, but it was also the site of a sanctuary of the penates publici during the time of Domitian, which had to be removed for the new Basilica. This is the only part of the building that remains. The structure is unique because it was constructed utilizing bricks and arches; all other public basilicas had flat ceilings supported by wooden beams. This building was probably inspired by the construction of the great imperial baths, such as the Baths of Caracalla, which it resembles. The building originally consisted of a central nave which was almost 120 feet high. The nave measured 80 X 265 feet, roughly, creating a 4,000 m or 12,000 sq. foot space. Light was admitted by two rows of windows in the vaults. The floors consisted of geometric patterns of squares, circles and lozenges of multi-colored marble, which may have been re-used during the construction of St. Peter痴 Basilica; they池e also similar to the floors of the Pantheon. The walls were covered with a marble veneer and the vaults were covered with gilded stucco. The roof was covered with gilded bronze tiles, making the building incredibly colorful, ornate and impressive. Only the three vaults of the northern aisle remain. The vaults of the south and central nave may have collapsed during an earthquake in 847. The remains of the colossal statue of Constantine I, which was once located here are now displayed in the courtyard of the Palazzo dei Conservatori on the Campidoglio. One of the columns from the central nave was also moved to the Piazza Santa Maria Maggiore in 1614, but the remaining columns have long since vanished. The bronze tiles from the roof were reused for the first Basilica of St. Peter.

saxo042 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Terez Anon (terez93) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 89 W: 78 N: 972] (1769)
  • Genre: 場所
  • Medium: カラー
  • Date Taken: 2004-07-00
  • Categories: Ruins
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2007-07-15 12:41
Viewed: 1958
Points: 1
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Terez Anon (terez93) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 89 W: 78 N: 972] (1769)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH