写真

Photographer's Note

This is another pov of the Parish Church, a spectacular building in the village of Mellieħa. The moment was taken during the 閃ellieħa Nights, a local festival celebrated with concerts, lights and street shows.
_________

Towards the end of the 19th century, when the Sanctuary of Lady of Mellieħa was becoming too small for the ever-growing Mellieħa community, it was felt necessary to build a new church. The British Government had already allocated an area near Miżieb for the building of the Parish Church but Parish Priest Francis Maria Magri had other plans, for he wanted the Parish Church to be as near as possible to the Sanctuary so as not to divide the Parish. Its foundation stone was laid in 1883 and it took 14 years of hard voluntary work for it to be completed. The white upper coralline-limestone building-stones were cut from a quarry in Armier and brought over on carts by the locals. It was blessed in 1897 though still without its belfries which were built later in 1920. It was later consecrated in 1930. Today various architectural works, sculptures, statues and paintings embellish this unique church.

Romano46, jjcordier, ourania, adores has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2075
Points: 42
Discussions
Additional Photos by Daniel Draghici (dkmurphys) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 5733 W: 83 N: 11524] (77042)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH