写真

Photographer's Note

This photograph is taken from the promenade in Sumida River. This bridge is named Shin-ohashi. First bridge-building was built with the Edo period in 1696 for the Edo citizen who there are few bridges and was having forced inconvenience. Then, it was again born on the Truss-type iron bridge in 1912. It also bore the Great Kanto Earthquake and was active service till the postwar period. Then, subsidence of abutments of a bridge became excessive, and passing of a large-size car was forbidden. It was again constructed in the present bridge through such changes in 1977. The bridge length is 170.0 m, and the width is 24.0 m. A west coast leads to Nihombashi Hama-cho, Chuo-ku and the east shore leads to 1-chome, Shin-ohashi, Koto-ku. Toei Subways Shinjuku Line passes in neighborhood underground. After separating from Arakawa river at the Iwabuchi sluice, the twenty seven bridges are located in Sumida River. Whole Sumida River was the center of trade in Edo period. Although postwar Tokyo developed in the direction of the west which makes Shinjuku and Shibuya a base by inflow of population, etc., the Sumida River valley which flows through this Tokyo downtown area is an area where the heart is rested most even now in Tokyo.

(p.s.)
From the sidewalk of a bridge: Workshops

jlbrthnn, jlbrthnn, pajaran, mcmtanyel, ikeharel has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1176
Points: 16
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by mikio kato (kato) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1386 W: 219 N: 3395] (11630)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH