写真

Photographer's Note

Liston was named after the fact that, when the island was run by aristocrats, there was a special List, and only people whose names were included on that List were allowed to walk there. Later on, common people were also allowed to walk there, but only on the opposite pavement. Liston was built by the French (1807-1814), on designs of the engineer Lesseps (father of the engineer who constructed the Suez canal), based on the model of the Rue de Rivoli buildings. (http://www.travel-to-corfu.com)

Budapestman, bema, ciakgiak, cfreire, argycon, gracious has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 4604
Points: 42
Discussions
Additional Photos by Vasilis Protopapas (vasilpro) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2742 W: 87 N: 5139] (41801)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH