写真

Photographer's Note

The Academy of Athens

The main building of the Academy is a neoclassical building between Panepistimiou Street and Akadimias Street in the centre of Athens.

The building was designed as part of an architectural "trilogy" in 1859 by the Danish architect Theophil Hansen, along with the University and the National Library. Funds had been provided by the magnate Simon Sinas specifically for the purpose, and the foundation stone was laid on 2 August 1859. Construction proceeded rapidly, after 1861 under the supervision of Ernst Ziller, but the internal tumults during the latter years of King Otto's reign, which resulted in his ousting in 1862, hampered construction until it was stopped in 1864. Works resumed in 1868, but the building was not completed until 1885, at a total cost of 2,843,319 gold drachmas, most of it provided by Sinas, and, after his death, by his wife Ifigeneia.

On 20 March 1887, the building of the "Sinaean Academy", as it was called, was delivered by Ziller to the Greek Prime Minister, Charilaos Trikoupis. In the absence of a national Academy, the building was used for housing the Numismatic Museum in 1890, and in 1914 the Byzantine Museum and the State Archives.

Finally, on 24 March 1926, the building was handed over to the newly established Academy of Athens with its founding principle tracing back to the historical Academy of Plato, founded in 387 BC.

Partial quote: Wikipedia

pajaran has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 0
Points: 4
Discussions
Additional Photos by Alex Fan Moniz (LondonBoy) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 97 W: 0 N: 660] (2604)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH