写真

Photographer's Note

This is the oldest monastery from the teritory of Basarabia. It is situated 40 km far away from Chisinau. It is mentioned for the first time in the documents in 1426 year, as a princiar monastery, founder Alexandru cel Bun voivode. Stephen the Great voivode, the nephew of Alexandru cel Bun, have build here (1491 1496) a church made by stone, dedicated to the Dormition of Mother of God. The son of Stephen the Great, Petru Rares, renewed the monastery in 1542 1545.
Some reconstruction works started after 1813 year, when Basarabia have been taken by the Russian empire administration. The arhitecture style of the buildings changed a lot. A new church have been made, Saint George.
During the sovietic ocupation (since 1940) the monastery has suffered a lot. In 1962 monastery have been closed by the state, houses of the monks transformed in a sanatorium for TB, one church in a warehouse, and trapeza (dinning room of monastery) in a social club. After 1990 monastery have given back to the Church.
In 2003-2005 years big restauration work have been made

jmdias, asajernigan has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 4735
Points: 8
Discussions
Additional Photos by Cosmin Nicu (ncosmin) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 79 W: 15 N: 146] (1191)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH