写真

Photographer's Note

In the 19th century, Baixa was Lisbon痴 commercial heart, with streets named according to their trades. Rua dos Sapateiros means 奏he shoemakers street.

The entrance to the street, which runs south from Rossio Square, is spanned by the decorative arch Arco do Bandeiro. This bears the name of the wealthy sponsor Pires Bandeiro who commissioned it at the end of the 18th century.

The street houses a number of independent shops, restaurants and hotels, some of them in Art Nouveau style. The Animatgrafo,nowadays a strip club, is Lisbon痴 earliest cinema hall opened in 1907, by brothers Ernesto and Joaquim Correia Cardoso. It has remained unaltered since then.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1125
Points: 44
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10630 W: 63 N: 29874] (130967)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH